,
Message sent from:

Welcome to Middle Phase 2019 - 2020

IMG_0784

Introduction

Miss Dean and Miss Osborne would like to welcome you to the Middle Phase of our school.

This year we will be exploring topics including 'Stone Age to Iron Age', 'Extreme Survival' and 'The Ancient Greeks'. 

PE for Year 3 will take place on Tuesdays and for Year 4 it will be on Mondays but children need thier kits in school every day as there are lots of other opportunities to be active too.

There are many exciting things that happen in the Middle Phase. Year 3 will go swimming and most children will make their First Holy Communion. Year 4 will perform at the Junior Music Festival.

Additionally, both classes will have ukulele lessons and will lead the school community in the Easter Happening.

Homework

Every Monday, the children will be given weekly reading, writing, maths and spelling homework which will be due in the following Monday.

Reading: The children are expected to read 50 pages a week (a recommended 10 pages a night) and record this in their  reading journals.

Writing: The children are expected to write 10 sentences using one of the given BISCUIT PLEASE sentence structures about their book.

Maths: The children will be set two My Maths tasks each week. The children have their login details are are free to use My Maths at any point for their own revision.

The children are expected to complete a Times Tables Square each week.

Spellings: The children will be expected to practise 12 spellings each week which will be followed by a spelling test - on a Monday for Year 3 and on a Friday for Year 4.

Multiplication Check - Children in Year 4 will be taking part in the Multiplication Check this year therefore it is important that children in Year 3 and Year 4 are practising their times tables at home as part of their weekly homework.

Useful Documents

Classes in Middle Phase

Year 3 Pompeii - Miss Dean

Year 4 Verona - Miss Osborne

Key Dates

Tuesday 10th September - Open Evening

Thursday 26th September - European Languages Day

Wednesday 2nd October and Thursday 3rd October - Parents' Evenings

Wednesday 9th October - C S Clifford Author Visit

Monday 21st October - Art Week

Tuesday 5th November - Verona Open Classroom

Monday 11th November - Anti-Bullying Week

Tuesday 12th November - Pompeii Open Classroom

Friday 15th November - Verona Class Assembly

Friday 22nd November - Pompeii Class Assembly

Tuesday 17th December - Christmas Dinner

Friday 20th December - Carol Concert

Topic Web - Autumn 2019

Woolly Mammoth Year 3 and 4
X
Hit enter to search